Kearsney Abbey and Russell Gardens
Are the most popular, historic parks in Dover. They are located 2.5 miles north west of Dover town centre in the Alkham Valley, part of the Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Both parks are carefully designed landscapes. Thousands of tonnes of earth were moved and trees planted to create the slopes, woods, water courses and lake. The River Dour, a spring-fed chalk stream, flows through the parks. Combined with ornamental lakes, this gives the parks a picturesque landscape style.
The origins of both parks can be traced back to grand country houses and estates built for prominent local industrialists in the early 19th and 20th centuries.
Crabble Corn Mill
Rescued from demolition and opened to the public in 1990. It can now boast to be one of the most complete and working examples of a Georgian watermill in Europe.
The current structure was built in 1812 alongside an existing mill which was later demolished to allow for additional storage space - what is now the exhibition area on the ground floor and the tea rooms. However, records show that there has been a mill on this site since at least 1227 when Henry III granted a Charter of Confirmation to St. Radigund's Abbey, the ruins of which can still be seen today on the hill above the village.
White Cliffs of Dover
These high chalk cliffs look out onto the English Channel, giving far-reaching views towards the French coast and providing magnificent walking opportunities. The best way to see the cliffs is to take a walk along the coastal path towards South Foreland Lighthouse. You’ll get a great view of the cliffs and also see the chalk grassland that’s home to so many unusual plants and insects.
The cliffs also have a special place in our national history and they were used for defence in both World Wars. You can see reminders of this past at the newly opened Fan Bay Deep Shelter a complex of Second World War tunnels hidden within the chalk.
Dover Castle’s position, commanding the shortest sea crossing between England and the Continent, has given it immense strategic importance over the centuries. The chalk of Castle Hill has been shaped and reshaped over the centuries into massive earthworks, ditches and mounds. Imposing walls and towers have been raised and networks of tunnels built beneath them. King Henry II began the building of the present castle in the 1180s, and it is one of the most impressive Castles in England.
Lydden Hill Race Circuit
Lydden Hill is a one mile, mixed surface, motor racing venue situated halfway between Canterbury and Dover offering an array of Motorsport action on two, three and four wheels.
Over recent years the circuit has played host to a variety of events including the FIA World Rallycross, the BHP Show, Classic Festival, Vintage Motorcyle Racing, BTRC Truck Festival, British Drift Championship, British Supermoto and the MSA British Rallycross to name a few. The mixed surface circuit made up of both asphalt and loose was the birthplace to Rallycross back in 1967 which has lead to an amazing year of 50th anniversary celebrations throughout 2017.